So...I got me a regular gig - help!

Name
Mike
Edit My Images
Yes
Since there isn't an official photographer at a local cycling circuit race, I volunteered my services, though let them know that I'm new to not only sports photography, but photography in general! They said it would be good to have me there and looked forward to seeing the fruits of my shoot. We agreed that they would use the images on their website with a link to mine if anyone wanted to buy high-res digital images or prints.

While at the race I noticed another photographer there from British Cycling, but learned that he was only taking pics for their (the BC) website, so I wasn't intruding. He even gave me a few pointers! Anyway, I managed to squeeze off a few decent shots using my 400D and 24-105 f/4 L with IS, but have figured out a few things that I need.

1. a big f*** off flash gun!
2. a proper zoom 200-300mm lens with IS
3. learn how to pan shots properly - I was getting loads of blur on side-on shots.

Anyway, that's my C&C of me - please let me have your C&C - I'm going to need it as I've got this gig once a fortnight now and a couple other races that the organisers would like me doing.

no.1
2402075844_a141e9f2cf_o.jpg

no.2
2401247705_a68021685c_o.jpg

no.3
2401247537_c4d1e43a9d_o.jpg

no.4
2402075358_fc47f0bb84_o.jpg

no.5
2402075216_26b7872c93_o.jpg

no.6
2402075096_31d13fe846_o.jpg

no.7
2401246929_71803eeaca_o.jpg

no.8
2402074736_cef85f4905_o.jpg

You don't need a big F off flash gun. Most flash will be at 1/8th or 1/16th power and is best way off camera so ebay slaves, skyport or Pocketwizards will be required . IS is handy but has it's problems too (funny BOKEH).

Most important is finding the spot that will guarantee a decent background and work it TO DEATH. A position where you can use a long lens and a wide lens is good if such a place exists.