Beginner Some questions from new member

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

I'm a digital artist and I'm after a camera to shoot reference. I've decided to go for the Sony a7iii and a Sigma 50mm f1.4 Art.
I need to be able to shoot portraits, landscapes and occasionally macro (sometimes in low light) Do you think the above combination would serve my purpose?

Last, but not least, could you recommend me a vendor?

Thank you in advance.

Hi,

I'm a digital artist and I'm after a camera to shoot reference. I've decided to go for the Sony a7iii and a Sigma 50mm f1.4 Art.
I need to be able to shoot portraits, landscapes and occasionally macro (sometimes in low light) Do you think the above combination would serve my purpose?

Thank you in advance.

I personally would not use a 50mm for portraits- on a full frame camera I use the 85mm f1.8 on my Sony a7Riii - as for macro you may find you need a dedicated Macro lens Like the Sony 90mm - landscapes I use a Sony 16-35mm

welcome to the expensive world of photography and our friendly forum

Les :)

I do use a 50mm for portraits and the combination you've mentioned is about as good as it gets - EDIT - but yes, 85-135mm is generally regarded as 'normal' for portraits

I also like a 50mm for landscapes and especially urban ones - EDIT - though it depends if you want to get everything in with a wideangle or be more selective

Macro though - could really do with a dedicated lens as Les says, though you could try extension tubes (as I do) if you only rarely intend shoot macro

And WELCOME to TP :)

Dave

Last edited:
I do use a 50mm for portraits and the combination you've mentioned is about as good as it gets

I also like a 50mm for landscapes and especially urban ones

Macro though - could really do with a dedicated lens as Les says, though you could try extension tubes (as I do) if you only rarely intend shoot macro

And WELCOME to TP :)

Dave