Speedlight + strobe advice?

Name
Cathy
Edit My Images
Yes
I set up two new Yongnuo 600 speed lights along with one of my Lencarta smart flash lights to do a fitness shot for a friend. I had tested all was well before leaving but on location which was a black and dark gym I could not get my main Lencarta strobe to go off with my speed lights. I am very new to trying this out so need a little help. I had placed the two speed light into two small strip boxes pointing to the side of the model and slightly facing me. I tried moving my main light closer but nope nothing it would not fire I did check I had it on slave mode which it was and tried turning that off but still nothing.It is not my Lencarta strobe as I love these lights and it works fine it is something I am doing wrong. Could it be that I need more light coming from the speed lights to reach the sensor on my main light? I was using a Yongnuo transmitter for my two speed lights which were both set to 1/16 th power at that time. I did continue with just the two speedlights as my lighting and it was ok but would have been so much better with my other light going off.

I agree with Mike - I didn't think I'd ever say that:) - and would add that with the speedlights in strip softboxes, with the light spill very controlled, it's probable that NO light reached the smartflash sensor.

My first thoughts are that not enough light was hitting the slave sensor, how were you triggering the speedlights?

Mike I was using the Yongnuo trigger for the speed flash lights hoping that they in turn would set of my main light. I did have the grids on the strip lights too so I think you are both right I need to turn up the speed lights in the strip boxes. The object was to create rim light on the model as he is cut right now and wanted to show off his muscles lol How could I refuse :) however I guess I need to just set them all up again and practice practice practice!!

Or can't you fit a receiver to the Smartflash?