Star Trails at our local church

n1kcy

Special.....Extra Special
Name
Nicky
Edit My Images
Yes
Last night I ventured out... on my own, to an isolated lonely graveyard. It was pretty windy, but I held my nerve against all the spooky shadows and strange howlings and came home with this shot.

Camera: Olympus EM1iii
Lens: 8mm fisheye

ISO1600, f2.8, 40 minute exposure using the cameras built in Live comp feature to combine all the images and I made use of the AF Starry Night focusing (after manually focusing on the church for the initial ambient light shot). I love Olympus for it's clever features, it meant I could sit in the warm car while the camera did all the work.

I'm pretty new to night photography so all critique is welcome. Thanks.

star trails.jpg

Cool ;)
I think the star trails are a little on the long side, but overall I like it:)

Cool ;)
I think the star trails are a little on the long side, but overall I like it:)
Thanks, funny I was thinking I'll go for longer next time. I guess a variety is key.

See...... I'm not so keen on these overly wide fisheye style images :ROFLMAO:

But, the church is well lit and the trails are nice though :) Nice one.

I've actually got some 35mm film scans to download which I think have got some star trails in there!

See...... I'm not so keen on these overly wide fisheye style images :ROFLMAO:

But, the church is well lit and the trails are nice though :) Nice one.

I've actually got some 35mm film scans to download which I think have got some star trails in there!
I know what you mean, they are cool a few times and then a bit meh.
The church was lit by a nearby street light and I pulled the sliders quite a bit (probably too much) in LR, I wanted to bring out the tree shadow on the church.
Wow, doing star trails on film must have been seriously challening.

I know what you mean, they are cool a few times and then a bit meh.