Studio Flash Lighting Setup For Oil Paintings?

Name
Andrew
Edit My Images
Yes
Equipment: Nikon D3200, 60mm lens, polarising filter, x2 Lencarta Smartflash, tripod, wall mounted easel. Garage studio.

I've recently bought two lights for photographing oil paintings.

So far I've managed to setup the lights and take photographs. More by intuition than anything else, I'm a studio flash novice. The results have been a big improvement on what I was doing before. But I've only been able to get a usable photo by angling the lights away from the painting. I'm also putting the photograph through a lot of post-production.

The problem I have is apparent in the (roughly setup) photo below. I can't both light the painting perfectly and not get light catching the canvas/paint texture. It would be good if I could just take the photo and there it is.

Here using F/8 and 1/125. Other settings below.

My polarising filter spins, but spinning makes no discernible difference (that I can see). Would a better quality filter make all the difference? Any other advice would be gratefully received?

Thanks

Btw. This is just an old canvas with a tear in it. I knocked the painting up for testing. I should add a few more colours...

$_57.JPG

$_57.PNG

where are you placing your lights and what modifiers do you have?

If there are no highlights/shadows then there will be no texture; and your oil paintings will look like lithographs. If that is actually your goal, probably the easiest way to go about it is to turn a smallish room into a light tent (light the walls/ceiling and not the painting).

I have soft boxes and I'm placing the lights to the side and behind the camera, depending on the size of the painting. Approximately at 45 degrees to the painting for the example enclosed. otherwise I'm facing the lights away from the painting so that there's no direct light. I'm trying also to have the lights level with the painting.