Sunsets.... (and filters)

Name
Dave
Edit My Images
Yes
Going to Turkey in May :)D:D:D) and would like to capture some of the sunsets etc..

I'm completely new to filters, but am thinking that something like an ND filter on my 24-105 would help so I can keep the shutter open for longer, am I barking up the wrong tree?

What would you suggest?

Ta,
Dave.

Your title says 'Sunsets', but you mention ND filters. :shrug:

If you are after sunsets, then Graduated ND filters would be more helpful imho.

The ND Grad will help balance the large exposure difference between the land and the sky. Handy for landscapes, not just at sunset. :)

The ND filter just reduces the amount of light entering the camera. Useful when you wanted a longer shutter speed than the light conditions let your camera give you. Handy for getting long shutter speeds on a waterfall for example. :)

no you are spot on, Lee filters are the best to get but tend to be pricy, I use a set of Hi Tech filters which come in at £30 for a set of three and they are pretty good and fit nicely into a Cokin P holder.

ND would not help in way what soever as all they would do is give you longer shutter time without altering the exposure.

What you need is what redhed17 said, ND Grad - these will darken the sky allowing you to still expose for sky whilst not crushing the lowlight details in everything else

I was going to ask the same kind of question concerning filters for landscapes,
had already thought of ND Grads, so just to expand the thread slightly do you have to buy a holder of some kind to hold the NDG in front of the lens ?

Am I right in thinking they are square in shape rather than round - as in UV
or polarisers ?

I was going to ask the same kind of question concerning filters for landscapes,
had already thought of ND Grads, so just to expand the thread slightly do you have to buy a holder of some kind to hold the NDG in front of the lens ?