Beginner Surveillance Work

Name
Chris
Edit My Images
No
Hi

I'm completely new to photography and I was wondering if someone would be able to help me out regarding a purchase of a new DSLR camera.

Firstly, it may be useful to know that the camera will be used for private surveillance work (fraud investigations, private investigations, Evidence gathering etc).

The camera (and any recommended lens) must be suitable for:

-Taking many photos per second to avoid missing a critical 'money shot'
-Ability to record HD video, ideally at a long distance without being shaken / blurred
-Excellent night shooting abilities
-A lens for long distance photography
-A lens for low light photography

The main areas of work will be: Daylight (distance) & Night time low lighting conditions.

The budget I have for the camera and lens together is only small which is where the limit lies- I am fully aware of this. I am looking for a camera below the £1000 mark to begin with. Obviously in time and with experience, I will look to buy a more capable camera. So, would anyone be able to recommend a camera / lens combination that would suit my needs?

Any links, recommendations or feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

I'd be looking a second hand camera, maybe a D7100 (crop body gives more reach for the same focal length) and a super tele lens, something like a used Sigma 50-500mm. Heavy yes, but lots of reach and within budget.

Good luck if this is a new venture... I had my own company doing this type of work for a couple of years, very challenging and getting that "money shot" is absolutely vital.

I would suggest that the lens is the more important factor than the actual camera. I tended to use something up to and around 300mm, but I know individuals who are using setups into the several thousand £££'s.