Beginner Take Better Pictures

Name
David
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all im new to all this and got myself a Panisonic lumix FZ72. When i take pictures i cant seem to get good decent crisp shot always seems to be little blury any tips would be great. I did have some pictures to upload but cant seem to do that.

Practice,practice,Practice it does not happen over night, effort needed, read some books, search online for tutorials there is no quick fix.
Also you don't say what it is you are photographing so advice is not so easy to give.
Russ

1. Read the manual or at least the quick start guide to your camera.
2. Take photos
3. Look at photos and decide what you don't like
4. Google and post images here and ask for help
5. Take more photos
6. Are the photos improving?
Goto 1

Blurriness is usually caused by camera shake (too slow a shutter speed), subject movement (too slow a shutter speed) or missed focus (camera focusing on the wrong thing, or you focusing on the wrong thing if you're choosing the focus point yourself).

If you can say what you're photographing with what settings we might be able to point you in the right direction...

The blurring could be down to camera movement. First try using a support to take a photo from. Use a tree or post or wall which will help keeping a camera still and see if that helps. Distance makes a difference as well but you don't say what you want to take pictures of

Last edited:
Just had a look and the FZ72 has a big zoom capability so remember that the more you zoom in the more the shake will be exaggerated so use faster shutter speeds as you zoom in.

Hello and a very warm welcome to you.

Useful Sections for New Members (click links)

> The Help section contains some good general information about how we do things around here and how the forum works.
> FAQs and Guides can be found here.