Talk to me about flashing!

Edit My Images
Yes
I have a problem, I want to get my tackle out and start flashing! But i don't know where to start or which direction to head.
I have been perusing you tube reading the books and webs and all I seem to be doing is confusing myself and going in full circles.

I am a hobbyist looking to learn and enjoy different types of photography, currently shooting wildlife, travel and street, but want to focus on Toy and Lego shots and general indoor shooting when the weather is grim (Manchester based so pretty much always) but also wanting good portraits and head shots with a plan to learn modeling and glamour / Instagram type stuff, indoor and outdoor.

So far I have gathered that studio strobes are best, but complex and expensive and at my current level and plans not necessary, but I am unsure if I need to be looking at continuous lighting, on camera flash or off camera flash ... then soft boxes and grids. I suspect a lot will be playing and trial and error while building kit and tools to find the looks I want, but need somewhere to start.

Can anyone recommend an good books or resources, I have a few books but are light "technically" on the details and more "generalist".

Kit wise I have a Nikon D750, Sigma 24-105 ART F4, 50mm 1.8, and 70-200 F2.8

What can you recommend or guide kit wise is best for my needs, budget is .. as cheap as is reasonable at this stage, I want kit that's going to work, but an SB5000 is out of the question until I know what I am doing and what I need. I'm not above used kit however can be partial to a bit of GAS from time to time.

I am looking at this kit: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Neewer-VK7...ash&qid=1552859442&s=specialty-aps-sns&sr=8-3 with a https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00IM6LKQM/ref=twister_B078BCDYZS?_encoding=UTF8&th=1 and stand to give me the ability to use off camera flash and on camera flash, both hard and soft. Is this a good direction or am I off the mark?

Thanks
Nixon