1. twist

    twist

    Messages:
    14,581
    Edit My Images:
    No
    How about Sony Alpha Owners Thread
     
    T_J_G likes this.
  2. woof woof

    woof woof

    Messages:
    18,809
    Name:
    Alan
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Good but surely too mundane with no sense of drama and maybe "users" is more inclusive than "owners" as someone may be using one from work or maybe using their dads kit.

    "The Amazing Sony Alpha Users Mega Thread!"?
     
  3. NewBeetle

    NewBeetle

    Messages:
    117
    Name:
    Ant
    Edit My Images:
    No
    The all singing, all dancing humdinger Sony Alpha Users Megatastic thread?
     
    woof woof likes this.
  4. ABTog

    ABTog

    Messages:
    811
    Name:
    Alistair
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Because Sony Alpha also covers the Sony DSLRs and DSLT models ?
     
  5. KryptoNeo

    KryptoNeo

    Messages:
    627
    Name:
    Stephen
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Maybe the Amazing Sony Mirrorless thread?
     
  6. twist

    twist

    Messages:
    14,581
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Yes
     
  7. Barrysprout

    Barrysprout

    Messages:
    6,144
    Name:
    Colin
    Edit My Images:
    No
    But "users" immediately excludes @Riz_Guru but yet he owns more than most of us :D
     
    woof woof, T_J_G and Riz_Guru like this.
  8. Riz_Guru

    Riz_Guru

    Messages:
    6,279
    Name:
    Riz
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Fair comment lol.
    If Sony brings out a APS-C version of the A9 I’m going to get it. :D lol
     
    Barrysprout likes this.
  9. LeeRatters

    LeeRatters

    Messages:
    933
    Name:
    Lee
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Thanks you. Was a lovely hour out :)
     
  10. twist

    twist

    Messages:
    14,581
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Ftfy
     
  11. twist

    twist

    Messages:
    14,581
    Edit My Images:
    No
    So the new update may stop nandbytes whining...

    The update unlocks all focus area settings with the Metabones. Zone, Expanded flex spot, and Lock-on all work, and work well.

    All focus areas also work now with the MC-11 + Canon.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2018
    Riz_Guru likes this.
  12. woof woof

    woof woof

    Messages:
    18,809
    Name:
    Alan
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I like it but I think that may be too many characters. Sadly.
     
  13. woof woof

    woof woof

    Messages:
    18,809
    Name:
    Alan
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I forgot the cabinet fillers and gear fondlers.

    So, "The Amazing All Singing, All Dancing Humdinger Sony Alpha Users, Cabinet Fillers and Gear Fondlers Megatastic Thread"?
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2018
    Barrysprout likes this.
  14. jonneymendoza

    jonneymendoza

    Messages:
    7,181
    Edit My Images:
    No
    That was the case from the last a9 update
     
  15. nandbytes

    nandbytes

    Messages:
    4,212
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Yep just confirmed it.

    Though that doesn't mean canon and/or Sony a-mount lensesb work as well as native lenses. Also they need to do a LA-EA3 adapter that'll focus Minolta lenses.

    That'll stop me whining :p
     
  16. simonbarker

    simonbarker

    Messages:
    1,928
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Am I imaging things or does this firmware update finally fix the live view effect being ignored when using a TTL trigger?
     
  17. Barrysprout

    Barrysprout

    Messages:
    6,144
    Name:
    Colin
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2018
    Fraser Euan White and Diamonddec like this.
  18. Raymond Lin

    Raymond Lin

    Messages:
    6,489
    Name:
    Raymond
    Edit My Images:
    No
    It's an EXE file, is there a Mac version?
     
  19. Raymond Lin

    Raymond Lin

    Messages:
    6,489
    Name:
    Raymond
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2018
  20. simonbarker

    simonbarker

    Messages:
    1,928
    Edit My Images:
    No
    You get a cable included with the camera and have to buy a memory card separately?
     
  21. nandbytes

    nandbytes

    Messages:
    4,212
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  22. nandbytes

    nandbytes

    Messages:
    4,212
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    So what its not like you can use the camera without a SD card anyway. So it reasonable to assume people will have one.
     
  23. Raymond Lin

    Raymond Lin

    Messages:
    6,489
    Name:
    Raymond
    Edit My Images:
    No
    You know anyone who has a camera and don't have a memory card?

    No doubt you are going to say you know someone or some story of some noob, but then if they are that much of a noob not knowing cameras don't come with memory cards, they wouldn't know anything about firmware either.
     
  24. nandbytes

    nandbytes

    Messages:
    4,212
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    there is no reason why the can't offer both options! The USB cable option for those who insist on shooting cameras without SD cards and also SD card option for those with SD cards!
    i don't think it'll too much work on Sony's part to implement this but they probably won't :p
     
  25. Raymond Lin

    Raymond Lin

    Messages:
    6,489
    Name:
    Raymond
    Edit My Images:
    No
    It's funny how you take these things for granted in Canon and Fuji. Something so simple and expect everyone to do the same, like having a round wheel instead of a square one.
     
    jj_glos likes this.
  26. woof woof

    woof woof

    Messages:
    18,809
    Name:
    Alan
    Edit My Images:
    No
  27. Riz_Guru

    Riz_Guru

    Messages:
    6,279
    Name:
    Riz
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Off to Dubai soon.....

    Sony A7 III
    Sony Zeiss 35mm f2.8
    Sony Zeiss 55mm f1.8

    Small and light kit...... still considering other lenses but then the kit becomes big and heavy :(

    A couple from the last time....

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2018
    trevorbray and woof woof like this.
  28. woof woof

    woof woof

    Messages:
    18,809
    Name:
    Alan
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I might get a holiday next year, maybe August, to either Singapore or Thailand. I'd like to see the gardens by the bay in Singapore but other than that I'd rather go to Thailand.

    Maybe there'll be a 35mm f1.8 in time for mine :D
     
    Riz_Guru likes this.
  29. Riz_Guru

    Riz_Guru

    Messages:
    6,279
    Name:
    Riz
    Edit My Images:
    No
    As much as I love my G Master glass... its not really ideal for travelling .... :(
    When I went to Dubai the last time ... I took the 24-70mm f4 which I hardly used, the 55mm f1.8 (used most) and the 70-200mm f4 G OSS.
    The 85mm f1.4 GM is big and heavy......... perhaps the 1.8 version is needed :D lol
     
  30. nandbytes

    nandbytes

    Messages:
    4,212
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    nice and sunny down here :D

    I'd take the 16-35GM to Dubai. Leave the 35mm/2.8.
     
    Riz_Guru likes this.
  31. nandbytes

    nandbytes

    Messages:
    4,212
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    what you need is an A7RIII. Take the 85mm GM and crop to 200mm :D
    much smaller kit that way :D
     
    Riz_Guru likes this.
  32. f/2.8

    f/2.8

    Messages:
    1,816
    Name:
    Tommy
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I have my 85 1.8 in the classifieds but debating just keeping it for this reason.

    I was gonna buy another smaller system for my travels but considering just buying the Sony 35 2.8 and keeping my 85 1.8 for when I want a lighter set up. I was considering the Sony 28mm but apparently its absolutely pants.
     
  33. simonbarker

    simonbarker

    Messages:
    1,928
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Maybe they want to make it easier for some support tech to just hook up a cable on a retail package, maybe they don't want to let users have an easy way to update the firmware so they can't tamper with it, maybe they do it just to annoy you?

    I'm no fan of their approach either, the first update failed on me repeatedly, so don't take it out on me.
     
  34. Riz_Guru

    Riz_Guru

    Messages:
    6,279
    Name:
    Riz
    Edit My Images:
    No
    That's a good shout!! :D
     
  35. nandbytes

    nandbytes

    Messages:
    4,212
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    FE28 is actually very good. at f2.8 its sharper than FE35/2.8 in corners.
     
  36. f/2.8

    f/2.8

    Messages:
    1,816
    Name:
    Tommy
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Friend of mine has a 28mm he said it was absolute garbage, worst lens they make.
     
  37. nandbytes

    nandbytes

    Messages:
    4,212
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    A7RIII is a even better shout :D
     
    Riz_Guru likes this.
  38. nandbytes

    nandbytes

    Messages:
    4,212
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    no that's FE 50mm f1.8 :D

    The FE28 is rather good. It has a lot of distortion but corrected in software. Some people like this because it keeps the size of the lens down and some people don't like it.
    Perhaps its not to everyones tastes but I wouldn't go as far as calling it garbage (unless he had a bad copy).
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2018
  39. Riz_Guru

    Riz_Guru

    Messages:
    6,279
    Name:
    Riz
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Yeah but its rather expensive :D lol
     
  40. nandbytes

    nandbytes

    Messages:
    4,212
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    since when was that an issue for you :p lol
    And you seem open to picking up a used one ;)
     
    Riz_Guru likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice