This film malarky scares me.

Messiah Khan

Santa is your dad
Name
Alasdair Fowler
Edit My Images
Yes
As per my other thread, im seriously considering getting a Large format camera to help educate myself about not only Large format cameras, but also the use of film. The idea of using LF camera doesn't really worry me too much, im sure I can pick that up fairly fast, but as im a complete film virgin, this is the aspect that confuses me the most.

Unfortunately I don't have anywhere I could set up a darkroom which would my ideal solution. So I have a couple of things I could do; Send the film (Pobably 5x4) off to a professional developer. Just entirely Polaroids. Or (And I think this is possibly the best solution) use some sort of simple process to develop the negatives, then scan them in to the computer.

Also as im completely new to this, the idea of working in complete darkness to load or transfer the film (Even if its just in a bag) puts me off somewhat. Now i've stumbled across some Ilford ortho plus which says it can be loaded and developed under a safelight. Has anyone used this? What is the image quality like? What chemicals and process would I need to develop negatives from this? And is it a complete no no to scan the resulting negative in on a flatbed scanner?

As im just dipping my toes into this for mainly self educational reasons im hoping to keep the cost of everything down to a minimum, so is this a good option? :)

Working in a darkroom doesn't take long to get used to. Practice a few times with a duff piece of film and the lights on. Then try again with the lights off and after a few goes it will be pretty easy to repeat the steps. I used to spend up to 10 hours a day in the dark loading slide film for processing and it's amazing how used you become to it, you really do feel like you've developed an extra sense and known where everything is without thinking about it.