Beginner Understanding flash?

Name
Carl
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello everybody, I’m trying to get my head around shooting with a flash as I’m generally a landscape shooter so flash is something I’ve had very little experience of! I think I’m finally getting somewhere and I just want to check if my understanding is in the right area.

Say I’m shooting a portrait of someone outside. I want a reasonable DoF so I’m shooting at f/8. I meter the background and it tells me the correct exposure for f/8 at ISO 400 is 1/250 sec. Am I right in saying (I hope so, because this will be a lightbulb moment for me!) that I set my camera at f/8 and 1/250, using ISO 400, which correctly exposes the background, and then change only the flash power to correctly expose the subject?

To expose the subject I’m using a flash which has a guide number of 141ft. My subject is at 9 feet from me, giving me an aperture to use of f/16. To get back up to my f/8 do I just half the power of the flash for each stop that I up? I.e GN of 141 = 1/1 power at f/16 or 1/4 power at f/8? This is of course for ISO 100, so my actual power to use is 1/32 for ISO 400?

If I’m totally wrong, any guidance or help is appreciated!

I have a few more questions afterwards, but I think it’s best to get my head round the basic bit first :LOL:

Many thanks,

Carl

First answer: use ETTL or iTTL and let it take care of the flash power.

I haven't checked your maths, but you have the right idea.

Just make sure you stay under the sync speed. If you can't, then you'll need to read up on high speed sync too.

First answer: use ETTL or iTTL and let it take care of the flash power.

I haven't checked your maths, but you have the right idea.

Just make sure you stay under the sync speed. If you can't, then you'll need to read up on high speed sync too.

Thanks Phil, it's good to know I'm on the right sort of track :)