Updated site would appreciate comments - WAS Going to update my website

Name
Christine
Edit My Images
Yes
I have decided to update my website a little, will probably keep the same colour scheme but lose the header and lose/edit some of the galleries.

I know there must be a way if I edit the left hand pane for it to be the same throughout the site without having to edit every page but is there a simple (ie simple for me to understand) without having to edit every page

Helpful comments before I start would be much appreciated. I am not a web designer and learn as I go along so please use simple language.

I know there must be a way if I edit the left hand pane for it to be the same throughout the site without having to edit every page but is there a simple (ie simple for me to understand) without having to edit every page

Are you going to be using Dreamweaver? If so you could do something with templates.

If (like me) you can't afford Dreamweaver the next best thing is using PHP Includes, you do the coding for the left column and save it as a php file, say leftcolumn.php, then whenever you want to include that code you type <?php include("leftcolumn.php"); ?>.

For this to work you will need php enabled on your server and instead of using the .html extension you will need to use .php.

CSS is what will let you make one change to many pages but after a quick look it seems that each page has it's own CSS rather than linking to an external file so you'll still need to edit each page I'm afraid.

But all might not be lost. I suspect all the pages use the same CSS so you might be able to copy and paste it from one of the pages and then replace the CSS in every page with a link to an external style sheet. Once you've done that then you could change once for all the pages.