Want to buy first real MF...any help?

Name
Obi John Mikel
Edit My Images
Yes
:thinking:Hi All,

Having had a holga CFN for a while now (and spent a fortune on about 2-3 decent shots!) i'd love to buy a 'proper' MF camera. I've been skulking around on ebay as I am a student and as such looking for something cheap and dirty so to speak...

at the moment it looks like the Mamiya M645 is in my price range..although I have days left on the auction. There is also a Bronica ETRS and Bronica SQ-A. I know next to nothing about these but was wondering if anyone had any advice on which to go for - the Bronic SQA comes with 3 lenses (50, 80, 150mm) and is going for around £80 (will go up) but the Mamiya is very cheap at present but comes with one 80mm lens. The ETRS comes with 75mm lens..

Also, is a TLR much better than a SLR MF? I know there is the whole issues of parralex error etc..

anyway, just buying it for my own pleasure so any input always appreciated!

olly:thinking:

You'll get good results with a twin lens reflex, but I'd have to say go for an SLR if you can. All the cameras you've mentioned are excellent. The only thing I'd say is go for one which takes magazine (film) backs as this gives you the ability to change films mid roll, which is a big advantage, and you can add backs and other bits as and when you have the wonga.

Usually with MF anything around 70 -90mm is considered a standard lens ( the equivalent of a 50mm lens on a 35mm camera) and is OK for portraiture, although longer is better. 50mm would be pretty wide and ideal for landscapes.

Let us know what you get. (y)

Thanks CT - I have a feeling the auctions will shoot up in price over the next few days but will have to wait and see...look forward to seeing what I end up with!