Wanted to try this for ages!

Name
Simon
Edit My Images
Yes
Been wanting to try star trails for ages but not had chance to go anywhere interesting!:thumbsdown:

This is my first attempt so thought it would be a good idea to just try some in the back garden to get the feel of things before i head off to try and find a more interesting location!(I have a few in mind(y))

I think it is ok but would appreciate any comments to help so that when i get chance to get out of the garden i won't make a mess!:help:

When i get chance to go to my chosen location i will be extending the amount of time this was purely for test purposes!

[url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/cotty332000/6449279347/] Back Garden star trail 1 by cotty332000, on Flickr[/URL]

Already commented on flickr :D but this is very good (y) for a first attempt it's spot on :clap: looking forward to seeing you take this out and about, I'm waiting for the next clear night :D

Matt

Thanks to all of your info i was able to make a success at the first attempt!
Top Man Thank You!!:clap:

Very good. I want to get a go at star trails too, not sure of the method to use. Is it safe to use bulb for long periods? Or would stacking be better?

Last edited:
Not bad, location could be better but as a test looks goodish, it all seems a bit blurred did you put your lens on manual, another way is twist lens so it disengages the exposure and aperture minor adjustment, basically disable any communication to the lens, so no adjustments to the camera, whilst shooting http://blog.planet5d.com/2011/11/getting-rid-of-flicker-in-timelapse-the-lens-twist-method/ it works for timelapse as well

I think the blurr was due to the fact that it was extremely windy!:bonk:

Very good. I want to get a go at star trails too, not sure of the method to use. Is it safe to use bulb for long periods? Or would stacking be better?

If you use bulb you run the risk of over heating your sensor i believe!