Warm temp after monitor calibration

Name
Steve
Edit My Images
No
Hi all,

I've just recalibrated my LG (27UL850) monitor using the SpyderX Pro, and when I look at my usual non-photo-editing apps (Chrome, Office docs, Windows Explorer, etc) the whites do look a bit warmer than I was expecting.

It's definitely not 'brilliant' white, and I guess in my inexperienced head a standard white should be 'not noticeably cool' and 'not noticeably warm' i.e. nicely in between these two.

It may be that I just had my monitor set too cool before, and that I need to get used to it (?)

Just wondered if this was common/normal?

I've been snapping for about 10 years now, and never printed an image yet, and I want to try printing out, and so I want to make sure my monitor is calibrated to a correct/standard level so that I can be confident of my WB/colour processing in edit.

Thanks much.
Steve.

Update: I just calibrated again and the white point looks more like what I expected. I guess time of day, temp of ambient light is a key factor
Yesterday I first calibrated towards end of daylight sort of time, and then again when it was dark/with room lighting - and the white point was the same for both.
I guess that's kind of surprising that they had the same reading, in the different types of light yesterday, what with this morning's readings coming out different/much cooler.

Monitor calibration doesn't always seem as reliable as might be expected, especially if your calibration device reads ambient light. Sometimes it's worth a second go if it looks a bit off.

When calibrating, you need to room lighting to be not bright and close to what you will be editing/printing in. My computer is in a south facing room and I always calibrate in the evening to avoid direct sunshine on the window.