waterproof/splashproof

Edit My Images
Yes
has anyone used the aquapac slr case for water photography.

I'd like to be able to take photos in the water (mainly of kitesurfing). I am not talking underwater photography, just a case so that the camera (pentax k10d) can't get wet when shooting in water.

I'd love to be able to take pictures in waist deep water, mainly of kitesurfing. So i need a housing that will allow me to do this.

The aquapac seems like a great cheap ulternative to the massively expensive underwater casing that is around. Are there any other options?

cheers
Charlie

edit: i have also found this one which looks similar: Dicapac WP-S10 SLR waterproof underwater case for film and digital SLR DSLR cameras Review

I'd go for whichever one gives you the most flexibility with lens choice m8, I've no experience with them myself though.

I've used something similar on an old Sony point and shoot, when scuba diving. It was water tight, but cumbersome and the casing kept moving and covering the lens, so ended up with only half a fish and the casing.

Even when out of water, and just using it to protect the camera from water splashing, I found it difficult to use.

This may be different with the product you are looking at and may work better on dslr's, but personally I would go with the full water proof housing that the manufacturers are offering if I was to do something similar in the future, as they are designed to work with your model of camera. Yes more expensive, but will give you ease of control and more flexibility.

Also, as you have to press the buttons through he plastic cover you can sometimes end up pressing 2 buttons simulatianiously, and guarantee its going to be the wrong button thats actioned.

Thats my 2p's worth anyway.

Gerald