Wedding Advice

Edit My Images
No
I've been asked to photograph a family wedding as their budget is limited. I of course have not formally shot a wedding before.

I'm reasonably confident shooting candid moments in the build up and after the ceremony - I'm used to doing street photography and have shot friends and family informally at three weddings in the past year (including my own). I photographed the hen do and the couple liked the photos, so more or less happy with this part.

However formal portraiture is all new to me, I'm not very experienced with flash and I'm more used to shooting with film than digital.

I'll be shooting a Nikon D5200 with 35mm f1.8 and 18-55mm mostly, and either a Nikon F4s with 50mm f1.8 or Mamiya 645 with 70mm f2.8 for the formal photos after the ceremony. Flash I'm kinda limited with a Nikon SB30 for the F4s and either the pop-up (uggh) or the SB30 on non-ttl auto for the D5200.

Prepared to buy another flash that I can bounce, recommendations for <£100 second hand if possible ? If there's anything that would do TTL for the D5200 and F4 whilst also allowing me to PC sync to the leaf shutter on the Mamiya 70mm, that would be great.

Advice ? If money was no object I'd be burning through B&W film on the F4s as that's where I'm most comfortable and the couple want B&W... however it isn't.

Last edited:
If the advice you're after is something that will TTL on the F4 and the D5200 I believe the only Nikon model that crosses over the 2 models is the SB800 (which is a great flash but getting on a little) It also has a sync port on the side however I'm not 100% on whether it will work with your Mamiya, as I've only ever used mine either in the hotshoe, via wireless triggers or in SU-4 mode. iTTL isn't available with the F4 but will be with the D5200. I've never used PC sync for anything so wouldn't want to say for definite.