What determines a good portrait

Edit My Images
Yes
I am no expert and to be honest most things look good to me.

But what determines a good portrait?

thanks

sam

Serious answer....I really don't know. The crying miner shot here is sublime for so many reasons (sorry can't find the link to it). Portraits either work for me or they don't, its a fizzy iffy feeling which is hard to describe. I don't care much for rules, so over exposure, flailing arms and elbows, chopping bits off etc all sit well with me if the reaction each time I look at it is a good one...
G.

Personally? One which sells :)

:LOL:

Other than money - it depends on your POV

To photographers it may be the lighting, spark in the eye, expression, PP any number of things

To the sitter it may simply be that they look better than they thought they would

To the sitter's family & friends it might be that the slightest hint of a smile/frown/whatever perfectly captures their view of that person's character; even if it's not the sitter's view or even a 'nice' (to us) photograph

I often found the 'best' by miles IMO kid's portraits were not the ones their parents bought :crying:

HTH :shrug:

DD

I often found the 'best' by miles IMO kid's portraits were not the ones their parents bought

Can relate to that. It bugs the hell out of me when the first pic the parents bin is the one I think is the best one I have taken for ages, yet they love the one I included just because the wife said to as it looked cute!!

I guess that's the same question as 'what makes a good landscape'. And the answer is 'it depends'. For me its often whether there's a 'connection' with the model, may be its eye contact, but doesn't have to be looking directly at the camera. Sometimes its the lighting, perhaps a 'story' in the image. I think its easier to list what doesn't make a good portrait.