What flash do I go for?

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
Yes
Right well I think now its time to invest in a flash as the built in flash on my 40D isn't up to much.

Any suggestions, bearing in mind that I am relatively new to photography so not the fountain of knowledge and wisdom just yet, and I haven't got a bottomless pit for purchases either..... That privilege belongs to the wife when it comes to buying stuff for the baby!!

Thanks

What's your budget then?

A 430ex is good, great flash, have one myself and it's about £170 brand new.

The 430EX is a great flash for the money but also look at the sigma 500 range, decent flash at a budget price.

I think I'd be tempted to stick to Canon if it's a first flash, then you will have 100% compatibility

I think I have to agree when it comes to compatibility. My last body which was a 400D had a non OEM battery grip and a sigma lens on it and I had nothing but bother with the ERR99. So I think I am best sticking with canon.

Budget is tight at the moment as I have just got married in Cyprus and now have the party back here to pay for so trying to keep it as tight as possible.

Anyone recommend going second hand? or are there any pitfalls when it comes to a flash??

I stick with Canon all the way, all my lenses and extras are all Canon
du no (du no is blanked out :O )why i do it just like it :D

i went for the 580 BTW gooooood flash

Watch out if your tempted by one of the older Canon flashes - modern flashes for dslrs work on 6 volts or less, a lot of older ones put out 2-300 and can fry your shiny new camera in an instant :crying:

Didnt know that so thanks. If I go for second hand then I suppose it would be a 430 or 580 but what I am trying to figure out is, is it really worth it?
Will the amount saved by going second be worth the effort just in case something goes belly up or shall I just bite the bullet and go for new??

580 gets my vote too - it is worth the financial stretch over the 430...