Beginner What ND filter should I use?

Name
Sam
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all.

I've been looking at some Hoya ND filters recently on Amazon, although I've never used one before. I am unsure on what one to get and how many stops I should be going down.
Could someone please help/explain?

Many thanks,
Sam

If you want to really blur water and clouds in bright light then try a 10 stop.

If you want just a little blur (not milky effect) then a 4 and a 6 would my choice.

I use a 4 stop Hitech and really like the effect. I also have a Hoya ND1000 (10 stop) and it gives no colour cast.

If you bought both a 4 & a 6 then you could stack them to create a 10 stop if you couldn't afford a 10 stop too.

Too slow, I was talking about landscape.

The only reason to use ND filters in portraits outdoors is to slow the shutter speed whilst using a large aperture for bokeh.

Oh. I'm such a numpty! :LOL:
Sorry, outdoor portraits. I'm trying to use the natural light rather than a flash.

I've been shooting portraits near trees and inside forests.

Are you shooting wide open (f1.8)? Are you exceeding the D3300's 1/4000th shutter speed?

If the answer is Yes/No then you don't need an ND for that.
If the answer is No/No then you don't need an ND for that.
If the answer is Yes/yes then you need an ND to reign the shutter speed back in.

Ah ok.
No, I'm not shooting all the way open. I was shooting at f/2.8, with it being incredibly hard to get the shutter speed right.

What kind of shutter speeds are you getting?
Do you feel they are too fast or too slow?

Last edited by a moderator:
I'd have thought you'd want as fast a shutter speed as possible for a portrait to get a nice sharp image. Which means unless you are exceeding the max then you probably don't need an ND.

However, it sounds like you're going for a very specific effect meaning you might be better off with a variable ND for use in changeable light conditions (depending on your reason for slowing the shutter as stupar said).