What would have caused this?

Edit My Images
Yes
I'm still new to film photography and wondering if you might shed some light on this (pun intended)

Sent a couple of rolls off to Analogue Wonderland recently to be scanned and they came back to me to say one of the rolls was blank, and appears that the whole film was light exposed and completely fogged. The other roll (which was in my camera before the one that failed) was absolutely fine.

Have sent the camera (Pentax ME Super) off to Peter at Asahi repairs in Brentford and he said that the mirror box needed some attention and would have soon failed, the internal grease had broken down and was replaced, and the switching which the metering relies on had oxidised so that was cleaned, as well as shutter speeds being calibrated.

Seems like it was just user error, but I can't think what I'd have done to cause this? Surely I'd have noticed if the door wasn't shut properly?

Do you mean blank as in see-through (in which case it was unexposed as it's a negative)? If it's that, the most common cause I'm aware of, is the take up spool not catching, and you were taking photos with no film being wound on. You basically sent them an undeveloped roll. Easy fix is to make sure the winding handle turns when you advance the film.

If you mean blank as in black, then it's been exposed to too much light. If the door wasn't shut properly, you'd have noticed, and I'd expect there to be some evidence of an image.

Do you mean blank as in see-through (in which case it was unexposed as it's a negative)? If it's that, the most common cause I'm aware of, is the take up spool not catching, and you were taking photos with no film being wound on. You basically sent them an undeveloped roll. Easy fix is to make sure the winding handle turns when you advance the film.