Which SLR for Portrait and Wedding

• Thread starter wastedperfection
  • Start date
W

wastedperfection

Hi All,

I am a newbie and about to buy my first DSLR. Have been into Photography all my life and have a goal in mind. I want to within 5yrs develop my skills in Photography, get some experience, lean alot and then open a Photography Studio to do Portraits and Wedding Photography.

WHich DSLR in your opinion would be the best for Portrait and Wedding photography except the Canons that cost £4k and upwards)? :help:

Matt

ive heard a lot of wedding and studio togs use the Fuji S5 Pro, uses nikon lenses and is great for skin tones, plus its not the most expensive body too even though it uses the nikon d200 body

Hi Cannockwolf,

Thanks for the reply. Yeah ive heard the same. But then again ive heard someone on a different forum say the Sony A200 would be best (which cant be true lol)

Matt

Hi Matt :wave: , first of all, what's your total budget, as you're going to need more than just a camera to do portrait and wedding photography.....lots more ;)

Just read a review of the Fuji S5 Pro and it says pixe sharpness is terrible. Ive just been looking at the Canon 5D and seen a few second hand bodies going for £700ish. (and reviews say excellent pixel sharpness)

Plus its full frame so that would probably be a good place to start wouldnt it?

Matt

Hi flashinthepan,

My total budget is about £1500 to start as i wouldnt be doing weddings for a few years as i want to get really good first.

I could find £1500 for the body and a few lenses (i already have tripod, memory cards etc)

Matt

what do you have at the moment?

Hi All,

I want to within 5yrs develop my skills in Photography, get some experience, lean alot and then open a Photography Studio to do Portraits and Wedding Photography.

Matt