Whitby Pano

Jo

Name
Jo Fisher
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm not 100% happy with these, but thought I would share anyway. I'm happy to listen to any constructive criticism you may have :)

I've done both colour and B&W versions, which I can't make up my mind over :LOL:

You can click both for larger versions ;)

Jo
xxx

Last edited:
I much prefer the B&W version, but am unsure about the large expanse of empty water. Shame there wasn't a boat heading out to sea when you shot it.

I'm not sure either.
I think its the patchyness, dark bands and distortion.
I'm gonna guess the frames are too wide, and the dark bands/patchyness is vignetting of individual frames.
Pano's are always gonna have distortion if we spin 180 degrees on the spot, its just not how the eye sees the world, nothing you can do about that, an already distorted wide just adds to it.
I'm not an expert on pano's but mine have looked better with a more tele lens in portrait orientation, or maybe the distortion is less noticeable even with the wide if its shot in portrait.
If I remember rightly, the dark banding isn't always vignetting, sometimes its an exposure issue, maybe there are better blending apps around, I dunno.

:)

I think John has hit it on the head there.
Portrait with a short tele does seem to do the business !!!!!
C

I do not think the program you are using is doing this shot full justice .
It would be better to use a projection in PTAssembler like Recti perspective, this keeps all radial lines straight. also the blender in your program has done a poor Job in the sky.

This shot is a totally different subject but shows how the Recti perspective projection keeps many vital lines either straight or much straighter.
The Smartblend blender used in PTAssembler also makes an excellent job of blending difficult subjects.

The very latest version is available here http://www.tawbaware.com/ptasmblr_51b2.zip
You would need to register it after 30 days http://www.tawbaware.com/ptasmblr.htm

sitepan-web.jpg