Wide Angle lens - shooting advice

Edit My Images
Yes
I have just purchased my first wide angle lens, the Canon 10-18mm. I am a hobby photographer and I like to travel light. I chose the 10-18 as it is lightweight and has the same filter size as my canon 70-200 f4 and my tamron 17-50 f2.8 so I can share my CPL and use the same adapter for filter holders. Also it seems to get good (obviously not the best) reviews.

To date I have taken a few landscapes with my Tamron 17-50 but on occasions have been restricted with what I could include.

My question is for anyone who has gone to wide angle, have you had to approach your shots differently, e.g. getting closer, making more use of foreground elements etc.

Any advice welcome.

The major thing i fought when first discovering wide angle use was the distortion though a lot of that can be fixed in post nowadays. It's difficult to sort of "get closer" to a landscape shot, but the wide angle lens will certainly make things that are far away in the background seem even further & vice versa so you will have to be careful & take that into consideration. It'll exaggerate distances between things. When used for the right scene though i think it can be breathtaking. Getting out there with the gear is obviously the best thing you can do. Experiment & you'll soon see for yourself. Is it just landscape you'll mainly use it for? It can also be handy for street & general travel photography if you get up close to subjects & really fill that frame. Can also be great for creative & unique twists on shots that might have otherwise been somewhat boring or standard.

Last edited:
Good advice from Shawn and Ken. They're a great way to exaggerate depth but you need a very interesting (and close) foreground in my view, it's very easy to come away with empty looking pictures despite a scene being far from that in our eyes. Have fun playing anyway, you'll soon iron out the pros and cons