Winter Landscapes

This is an interesting thread and I just want to ask a question to see if anyone else gets this.

If you sit and really look at a nice warm summer image during winter do you find the photograph more evocative, with a stronger summer feel? Conversely does looking at a lovely crisp frosty winter image during the middle of summer make you feel cold and remember that time of year strongly?

As a photographer I love all the seasons, but I find myself pining for the ones to come. I really need to live in the present more!

This is an interesting thread and I just want to ask a question to see if anyone else gets this.

If you sit and really look at a nice warm summer image during winter do you find the photograph more evocative, with a stronger summer feel? Conversely does looking at a lovely crisp frosty winter image during the middle of summer make you feel cold and remember that time of year strongly?

As a photographer I love all the seasons, but I find myself pining for the ones to come. I really need to live in the present more!

I generally dont mind which season were in, providing the conditions are good or conducive to photography. Sometimes I find the height of summer rather boring where everything is the same shade of green.

This winter however we have had hardly any decent weather and prolonged spells of fairly mild but wet, flat grey and very windy weather. The landscape is a waterlogged shade of mud.

A very good photographer would probably still make some interesting images out of these conditions but I struggle for the time or motivation when its

Last edited:

Yes, i think so. We become habituated to what we see all around us even in a relatively short time frame like spring or autumn (although spring seems to come and go so quickly). Looking back on images we took a few months ago can add value to them, as in -

Wow, was it really THAT frosty/green/colourful last winter/spring/autumn.