Beginner Workflow

Name
Paul Campbell
Edit My Images
Yes
As soon as I started playing with photography as a hobby, using my mobile until I can actually get a new camera, my Google photo's storage alerts keep going off and I have to delete stuff, most of it is junk.

On a larger scale I have a "Camera" folder, which is a mess, it's about 0.8Tb in size and growing RAPIDLY due to 4K video. If I was honest, there is probably about 50Gb or actual "keepers" and the rest is junk, unculled memory card dumps, dozens of 100MEDIA folders with, or without dates on them.

I googled "Photography workflow", but it seems that's a big thing with people selling whole photography management services, not what I was looking for.

I'm looking for process, folder structures, cataloguing, etc. For example, I would prefer to do work on an SSD, but I don't want to spend the money to store ALL my video/photo archives on SSD.

I know some of this is software dependant with various things having their own processes, like "converted" sub folders.

What do y'all do to control the mess and mountain of unsorted data?

I've posted my workflow on here before

1. Go to bed thinking "I'll get up early and catch the light"
  2. Get up late but determined
  3. Throw a random collection of bodies, lenses, batteries, cards, filters, ktichen sink etc. in a bag. Extra points for failing to check the various things are compatible and also for forgetting the waterproofs, gloves, flask, etc.
  4. Drive around randomly, occasionally stop and snap things that "might" work
  5. Get back home, rush to the computer
  6. Import, skim through and delete about 50%,
  7. Have a brew/do something else for a while and/or take an anti-hoarding pill
  8. Go back and delete most of the rest but not quite all because, well, nostalgia.
  9. Do some barrel bottom scraping to pick one that might be vaguely worthwhile
  10. Pretend that my awesome PP skills will recover a work of sublime photography from the selected pigs ear