Zoom lens advice

Name
Huss
Edit My Images
No
Hi all,

Well I am still very new to the forums here and haven’t posted much myself yet. But a big browser as there seems to be some fantastic photos and togs on here. Anyway I digress and the reason for my post is that I am after some helpful advice. I am really quite new to the whole photography scene (started in March) but have fallen in love with it all, with photography most definitely now becoming my main hobby.
I am currently the owner of a Canon 450D and I am looking to compliment it with a good quality zoom lens to go with my 50mm prime and kit lens. Given I have aspirations of shooting stock photography in the future, once I have the skill set. I want something that will grow with me.
So on to my options. I am in the very fortunate position of having a family member who works for Canon and so I can get access to a discount. What this means is that I could get either of these two lens
EF 70-300 mm F4-5.6USM IS
EF 70 – 200mm F4L
Here is where the problem starts, the difference between these two lens is only £50, which should mean that this is a no brainer and the L series Lens should be the way to go right? But I like the idea of IS on a zoom lens and the extra 100mm. I have heard image quality is comparable on the two but would welcome any feedback from real world users. Alternatively can anyone else suggest a viable alternate?
Thanks for taking the time to read my post and any help advice that can be dispensed.

I think you've nailed the decision making porcess yourself - do you want the long zoom (personally I never use my 70-300mm since I got the 70-200 L f/4), do you want IS (can't comment, none of my lenses have it) and do you want a faster aperture when it's zoomed (this is the one that does it for me...),

Think about the build quality too - the L glass is lovely.