Zeek's 2011 52 - Week 2: New

Edit My Images
No
Jump to Week 2: New

Hi everyone

I've been a long time lurker on this site, and used it a lot when I was looking for info on which dSLR to buy last year.

I'm a total beginner - so this is going to be a baptism of fire! I have a camera now (Canon 450D) but I need to learn to use it. Although I have taken some nice shots in the past, I suppose I'd say they were a bit 'obvious', so I'm hoping this will help me to find shots which aren't just a copy of the same picture everyone else takes standing in the same position.

I also have zero experience in doing any processing on the images after taking them off the camera, so that's what I need to work out as I go through this.

Anyway, here's the first attempt. Accommodation. With any luck they will all get better from here on!

Cheers

Zeek

Last edited:
Zeek, is it some for of artificial beetle or bee nest?
I like that you've opted not to tog all the box.
The DOF looks about right too

Yes - exactly that. It's an insect box. I didn't think it would do much when I put it there in the summer, but it is heavily used by lacewings and solitary bees...

It was fascinating watching them seal up the ends with leaves when they leave them after egg laying. This year I think I'll need to get a macro lens to get some photos of them!

Thanks for the comments - really helps a complete newbie!

Hiya Zeek,

First of all, welcome to TP I am sure you will have a great time here and learn much from fellow members.

Well done for taking on the 52 challenge, I look forward to seeing your photos.

I really like this first week's photo. I've never seen one of these before and wouldn't have even hazard a guess as to what it was. I think this fits in well with the accommodation theme.

I'm sure you will get some great macro insect photos through the year.

Good luck with the rest of your Photo52.

Cheers

Dawn :)