Delailuma's 2011 52 - Week 6 Clutter NOT added

Name
Derek
Edit My Images
Yes
My first contribution to something as structured as this. Wanted to be less obvious on the theme but alas this is my favourite shot of those ideas I had. Also my first attempt at HDR, I'm even more inexperienced at Post Processing than taking the shots, I' still not entirely happy with the sky and the boats, any suggestions on what I could do with them would be greatfully received. Also the HDR in general. Thanks for looking.

AccomodationHDR by scottish_gweilo, on Flickr

Last edited:
Good luck for this challenge. I am also a newbie in regards to photo editing but that is why we are here to learn.

I think the image is a bit over exposed because the colours are a bit washed out. I really like using HDR

I know you say you're not happy with the sky and the boats but for me they work the way they are. The way they melt into the hazy background fits the scene well imho. Same with the colours, from being very bright in the foreground and slowly falling off as you go deeper in to the scene is in keeping with the haze.
I've never had a go at HDR so can't offer any help with that but I do feel allot of HDR images look over produced, this one on the other hand is not one of those, yes it is HDR but isn't over produced and holds it's natural feel.
I think it's a pretty good image :)

I like the haziness in the sky and think this is good. Good luck for the next 51 weeks.

I love the sky & water reflection ,that'd make a picture on it's own ! Not sure about the colors on the jetty ( & know nothing about HDR) but it is growing on me :)

Thanks for the feedback so far folks. All well received and encouraging that people like the parts I'm still not happy with! Shows how subjective what we do is.

So week 2, theme = New. Let me explain why this photo represents new.

1. Last week I sumitted an old part of Hong Kong, this week I've gone for a new one.
2. I used my new wide angle lens for the shot.