Shooting in RAW??

Name
Sarah
Edit My Images
No
Evening everyone,

Pls can someone explain to me in layman's terms what the difference is between shooting in JPEG and shooting in RAW

I have just reached this stage in the manual of my 650d and I don't really understand what the difference is. I've read numerous threads on here about the debate on which is better and I'm guessing that as a total newbie to the world of DSLR's that JPEG is the way forward for me.

However I've been a little bit confused by people saying that they like shooting in RAW so that they can edit the photos after.

Eventually I would like to be able to have a practise messing around with my pictures on my PC, is this not possible to do in JPEG on something like Photoshop?

Again, apologies for my ignorance. I'm just learning

Thanks in advance for your help

Sarah

You can work with/edit both RAW and jpeg files but RAW gives you everything that the camera captured to work with whereas a jpeg file has lost some of the file information in the process of becoming a jpeg - additionally every time you edit a jpeg file you lose a bit more data.
jpeg is convenient but not necessarily the best file format to achieve the best results - that having been said many shoot only in jpeg :)

Jpegs are a compressed format image so you are throwing away information. RAW gives you the opportunity to fix things like colour balance and to a certain extent exposure, in a more satisfactory manner as you have the full image detail available, not just part of it.

Hope you don't mind me joining in here :)

So..

If I was to shot in RAW but not edit the photo in any way, would it be of better quality if printed straight from memory card than JPEG?