Adapter for the Canon R-series - what should I get and why?

Name
Erika Tanith
Edit My Images
No
All my lenses are Canon EF mount and, seeing as I need to upgrade my old 5Div body, they won't fit the latest R-series cameras. I was going to buy the standard adapter ring, but then I've seen that Canon offer an EF-EOS R Control Ring Mount Adapter that allows users to "Programme this lens control ring to adjust aperture, shutter speed, ISO or exposure compensation while your EOS R camera is still at your eye." My question is is it worth the extra £100 for this feature? Is it easy to use?

I don't entirely understand what it does (I usually change the aperture without looking on my 5D), but I assume it's because I've never used a mirrorless camera before? Interested in hearing anyone's thoughts on this.

If it makes any difference, I primarily shoot weddings: https://www.erikatanithphotography.co.uk/

I bought the basic Canon one, I can change all 4 settings on the body without the control ring, not quite in the same way as on my 1DX mii or 7D but still easy enough to sort the controls out, I imagine you're going for an R5 or R6mii in which chase the dial setup is pretty similar to what you have on the 5D

I bought the basic Canon one, I can change all 4 settings on the body without the control ring, not quite in the same way as on my 1DX mii or 7D but still easy enough to sort the controls out, I imagine you're going for an R5 or R6mii in which chase the dial setup is pretty similar to what you have on the 5D
yeah, I'm getting the R6ii. I looked at the R5 but it's geared more towards video and I don't need the functionality for the price tag.

Good to know it's similar to what I'm using; I'm really nervous about changing systems but my old camera feels like it's on its last legs.

It’s bringing the functionality available for RF lenses to adapted EF ones.