Indoor sports event settings

Name
Matt
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all, ive posted this in the basics forum but have been recommended to post here too so hope you all dont mind a duplicated thread.

Am going to a martial arts event this coming weekend and am looking forward to trying to get some good shots, however ive never shot an indoor sports event before and am a bit uncertiain of setting to use.

Ive got a Nikon D60 and have a sigma 70-300mm lens and a 18-55mm kit lens to use (might try some wide angled shots with my sigma 10-20mm too) and will probabaly opt to shoot in either shutter priority or manual.

Done a bit of research at lighting conditions at the venue which is the nottingham arena and was thinking of using the following settings:

ISO around 400 - 1600
Fast shutter, say 1000th
widest aperture my lens will go to
Auto white balance (depending on lightings as i havent been there yet)
Shooting in RAW

Ive also got a 360AFD Jessops flash i could use but am a complete novice with it and would have to totally guess on setting if i used it.

Has anyone shot in the Nottingham arena and could give me some advice as to conditions and best settings to use??

Thanks guys :)

Are you the official tog or are you just taking pictures....?

With your camera i would say that 1000th of a second it way over the top.

You need to check in the arena, try and set white balance and shoot in jpeg, if you are shooting in RAW you will not be able to use burst mode fully.

I shoot the British International Taekwondo Championships a few months ago in Manchesters Sports City to the best of my memory, i shot at 500th second, ISO 1000 then adjusted the aperture to as high as posible.

Crash

i dont use 1/1000th of a second for indoor showjumping so i thing you could get away with a much lower SS !

However i doubt you'll get 1/1000th indoors with a kit lens so do you know anyone you could beg steal or borrow a prime lens from ? Say a 50mm or 85mm ??

Last edited: