Beginner Is my Camera / lens faulty?

Name
Mark
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey guys.
Noob here. I've just got my first dSLR camera, a canon Eos 600d, that a friend was kind enough to gift me. It came with the ef-s 18-55mm IS II lens.

I'm not sure if the camera or lens is faulty, or I'm just doing something wrong. I started out by putting it in full auto mode, just to test it, and set the lens to AF.

When shooting, and pressing the shutter halfway to autofocus, I can hear a motor clicking and the camera beeps and displays Err 05 and says it can't activate the pop up flash, even when shooting in bright outdoors (I guess this is possibly dust or dirt preventing the flash from popping up?)

In modes where the flash is disabled, and I try to autofocus, it only works intermittently, and very rarely, it just won't bring the subject into focus. It either does nothing, or flashes a red square in the viewfinder. The manual focus works fine.

Any advice greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance

Have you tried to clean around the inside of the pop up flash?

Press the flash button and give the flash a very gentle wiggle and this should help it come up, then just give the unit a wipe around and check for any dirt around the hinge.

Hi Mark,

If manual focus works fine I'd suspect an issue with the lens. Those kit lenses are notoriously damage prone. I managed to break two over various camera ownership(s). One I dropped and it literally exploded, and the second just kept showing errors on the camera body. The good news is that they're relatively cheap to replace, and can be had for very reasonable prices second hand.

The easy way to prove it would be to borrow a known working lens from another Canon user (perhaps your friend?) If that lens works fine, you can be sure it's just a case of a lens replacement.