Starting Uni - £3k budget for kit!

Edit My Images
Yes
Hello,

I am starting University in September on a business degree. It will be for 3 years so will give meplenty of time to learn photography and then hopefully put my business skills and match that with my photography skills to do my own business.

I will be doing normal portraiture and wedding photography. So will want good high iso performance.

I want to buy a camera setup and have a budget of approx £2000 (could go as high as £2.5k but that would be for something special)

Would you recommend Crop or Full Frame?
I will need to get out of that the following :

• Camera Body
  • Walkabout Lens (wide to medium telephoto)
  • 50mm Prime lens
  • Filters

I already have a good tripod and a good bag.

What would you recommend? Im not a total newbie to photography and have had a few slrs in the past (sony a200 and nikon d60) but found them not suitable for me due to handling issues.

Must admit i held a Nikon D300 and a Canon 40d and found them lovely.

Any ideas?

Amy x

Wish I had £2k to spend :p

I am a Nikon fan, a D700 would be lovely but would take up most of your budget, you could add the 24-120mm and a 50mm but that would take you over £2k.

A better idea would be the D300 (or D90, which I have but part of me hankers after the D300) and the Nikon 17-55 2.8 lens (or maybe the cheaper Tamron). Get a new 300 and second hand lens and you should be looking at £1600 ish, plus a 50mm at £100.

Wish I had £2k to spend :p

I am a Nikon fan, a D700 would be lovely but would take up most of your budget, you could add the 24-120mm and a 50mm but that would take you over £2k.

A better idea would be the D300 (or D90, which I have but part of me hankers after the D300) and the Nikon 17-55 2.8 lens (or maybe the cheaper Tamron). Get a new 300 and second hand lens and you should be looking at £1600 ish, plus a 50mm at £100.

I wish i did too :D