The Ultimate Car Rig Photography Thread!

Name
Sammy
Edit My Images
Yes
Being a keen car photographer I recently made my own car rig and researched multiple threads on here for advice.

I am now on my second stage of my rig and have ordered the proper manfrotto parts.

I thought it would be helpful for others (and me) to have a thread of discussion/advice and photo sharing of car rig shots.

So here was my first rig. I think it must have cost me about £62 in total and is made up of the following parts...

2 x suction pads from B&Q - £9.99 each
1 x aluminium 12ft aerial mast - £12
1 x steel 2m metal pipe - £10
10 x 6mm nuts and bolts - £5
1 x mini tripod - £15

Here is a picture as I was adding an extension piece on (it is now drilled and bolted)...

12022d94.jpg

1488daba.jpg

It was good fun to make and easier than I thought, it easily dismantles and transported in the boot of my car.

Once I made it I was dying to try it out but was on my own, so made do with a couple of trial shots in the back yard lol.

Was limited to the shots I could do alone and kept having to stop the car rolling away lol

Here are the best...

audirig4.jpg

audirig3.jpg

audirig2.jpg

audirig1.jpg

Sammy

notice the deliberate mistake in the last one, don't know why I didnt remove that last bit of the beam in photoshop lol :)

I then had another shot with the rig in an underground car park. Much better in low light and a smooth floor...

ronnie4.jpg

ronnie3.jpg

ronnie2.jpg

ronnie1.jpg

I would love to see other people's photos and hopefully get some discussion going on this topic. I cant wait to get the new parts which should hopefully help alot!

Sammy

so got the new Manfrotto parts delivered and went out for a practice. Here is new the rig set up...

rigsecond5.jpg

rigsecond4.jpg

And didn't have long but had a practice couple of shots...

rigsecond3.jpg

rigsecond2.jpg

rigsecond1.jpg