what do you think

Name
matt
Edit My Images
No
this was my first ever attempt at street

ostend_player.jpg

Not a bad shot but, perhaps it's my eyes, but the bin seems to be the only thing in focus.

Whats to say, if a photo is out of focus then you bin it. It's a shame that you missed the shot but there's always next time.

as im new to this i think i'm after a little more explanation
i have noticed people talking about adding blurs and making/taking photos out of focus as it adds artistic quality so to a newbie like me who doesn't understand all these techniques yet it's not enough to say 'its crap cos its out of focus bin it'
that unfortunately doesn't help me to improve does it?

If you're going to add those after effects, which, for the record is something I'm not into so can't help with then you need to start off with a decent, IN FOCUS photograph to accentuate what you're trying to achieve. However, if you try to apply those effects to the photo that you've posted above then it's only ever going to look as though you've attempted to rescue an out of focus photo.

Honestly, you're new and I don't want to look as though I'm bullying you but surely you can see that it's horribly out of focus can't you? That is unless you were taking a photo of the bin.

as im new to this i think i'm after a little more explanation
i have noticed people talking about adding blurs and making/taking photos out of focus as it adds artistic quality so to a newbie like me who doesn't understand all these techniques yet it's not enough to say 'its crap cos its out of focus bin it'
that unfortunately doesn't help me to improve does it?

The starting point is I think to take photos that you like - don't think techniques that will make them 'arty' at this stage.