which 24-70 for my d800

Name
alastair
Edit My Images
Yes
Evening all, now im a proud new owner of a d800 I would like to treat it to a new lens, I have the nikon 17-55 which i will be selling soon to help fund the 24-70. I know the 17-55 is an amazing lens but it doesnt work to its full potential on the d800, i would like a lens to use on both my d800 and d7100.

In the line up are the nikon, tamron and sigma.

Nikon = expensive but the best ( so ive heard/read) £1200
Tamron = excellent quality with vibration control, mid priced £800
sigma = cheaper and bottom of the pile compared to others ( so ive heard/read) £550

i dont know if i should just bite the bullet and spend the £1200 on the nikon, I dont work professionally so im not gonna make the money back, im just an amateur who dabbles with portraits and landscapes.

any experience with any of the lenses and suggestions welcome, ive got around £800 but could save for the rest if i waited. ( £800 burning hole in pocket)

many thanks Ali

If it was me, not having compromised on the body, I wouldn't be comprising on the glass. I use the nikon day & daily and can highly recommend it. Not that I've done tests etc. I just think it does a good job. No experience of your other options.

Do you mind 2nd hand? A Nikon 24-70 goes for £750-800 on the Classifieds here.

Do you mind 2nd hand? A Nikon 24-70 goes for £750-800 on the Classifieds here.

thanks, had seen this and a little hesitant to go for it, only bcos my brother has the 17-55 like me and his had no end of problems even after coming back from nikon for repair allbeit nikon france!!

Still over priced

Maybe it is, maybe it isn't. I have a 28-75 which I think is excellent but I do wish it went to 24mm for use a walk about lens. As Ali was asking about 24-70s I just felt it was worth highlighting how he could save money buying a 2nd hand one.

Nikon has cashback on the 24-70 at the moment, £175 off I think, bringing it to just over £1000 new!