Critique Withered.

Dale.

Bo Derek
Name
Dale.
Edit My Images
Yes
I have a themed competition coming up at club. There's a trophy up for grabs and one of the themes is tabletop.

I've never done tabletop before and my product photography is average, at best. I like a challenge though so I've picked tabletop. I tried today and had an idea for some roses from our garden that are only now dying off, in November. o_O

Anyway, a simple set up, one lamp to the left of one of those tabletop softboxes that I bought years ago but never used. I've got close to what I'd like but a few things might need fixing. I'm not sure on the reflections on the glass, if they add to it or are distracting. Also, I think I need to find a coloured BG and possibly a different vase type thing.

Taken with the R7, a 50mm prime, processed and a texture put on.

Thoughts please. Harsh but fair crit is fine by me. (y)

IMGL3090 LRC NEW PS JP tp.jpg

Last edited:
Hi Dale, just my thoughts, could be total BS..

Looks a bit lost in space, the vase for me needs to be on something.

I think the vase shape distracts from the rose as the hips draw the eye.

Reflections are nice, may be little bright? but look even.

Just my view :)

Hi Dale, just my thoughts, could be total BS..

Looks a bit lost in space, the vase for me needs to be on something.

I think the vase shape distracts from the rose as the hips draw the eye.

Reflections are nice, may be little bright? but look even.

Just my view :)

Cheers Gav.

I always appreciate constructive crit like that, thank you. (y)

I've just seen the hair too. :p

Cheers Gav.

I always appreciate constructive crit like that, thank you. (y)
Have you darkened the surface at all? little bit of lift may help plant the vase.
Darkening the vase may put focus back on the rose :)

Good luck with the comp (y)

This has reminded me I need to get my Orchid done before it drops.

Have you darkened the surface at all? little bit of lift may help plant the vase.