£500ish Budget - Canon/Nikon SLR - Advice Needed!

Name
Rob
Edit My Images
No
Hey Guys,

I have been a member of this forum now for sometime and I am really glad that I joined. It has been invaluable with all the advice I have received - I hope also that I have helped others!

Anyway to the point .... I have been photographing for around 4 years (started when I was 18, I bought a Nikon D50 out of my first months wages from work!) My latest camera was a Canon 450D (yes I made the transition from Nikon to Canon!) however around a year or so ago I reluctantly had to sell it with Christmas coming up and other expenses. Thankfully I am now financially sound and back in the position where I can at long last (it's been too long!) buy an SLR camera back. The problem is that I have been using a basic compact digital camera for the last year and thus have lost touch completely with the SLR market.

I have set a budget of £500 however can go to £650 if it's going to be worth it.

I want to photograph mainly sports (horse racing, tennis), garden birds and other Wildlife generally. I am looking to buy a camera that comes with a 18-55mm type of lens as a starter before buying another lens in the not too distant future (next month).

I am looking at the Canon 500D - however I see the newer 550D is out - for the extra £150 is it worth it?

I have missed my digital photography so much so cannot wait to get back into it.

Any advice/tips would be greatly appreciated :)

Many Thanks for your time,

Cheers, Rob

look at the D90? or the D5000, both nikon and both good. Im not a canon user sorry

Check out MPB top right of this page for used Nikon and Canon gear, they have loads of stack that can change daily and you get a warrenty.

Used D90 with an 18-70mm for your budget.

I'd consider:

Canon 30D
Canon 40D

Nikon D90
Nikon D200