£600 - £650 budget DSLR set up help!

Name
Dave
Edit My Images
No
I've been asked to help a friend buy a DSLR for her husbands 40th present. £600-£650

I'm not very experienced in this field, but bought my own a while back, but I'm wondering what people think to my plans for this.

I'm thinking I should advise to approach it roughly:

£300-£400 body with a basic lens
£150 a relatively cheap zoom lens, either a canon 50-250, or perhaps a cheaper Sigma 70-210 or something,
£100 for sundaries like a tripod, filters, bag etc.

I was plannign to advise against a Grip as I dont think he would be taking huge amounts in one go, so probably worth saving here.

Definitely want to go the Canon route, so I'm thinking perhaps a 450d. What are sensible alternatives to this in the canon route? I'm suggesting second hand market also to get better quality for the money.

Any advice very greatfully received.

Bit of a risky one this as who knows what hubbie would want in a camera. Brand new or second hand?

Me - I would suggest a 550d or a 50d with kit lens and a nifty fifty.

If you had enough left over 55-250 is a bargain.

Would ignore the sundries

davie

its a very vague task, but I know him well and he would be delighted just to get going with it. I think I'd say no video essential at this point, but I will ask the question.

I've been googling hard for the past hour, and I'm wondering about a £400 second hand 450d with a few bits (bag, shutter release) and the 18-55 kit lens. Thats a second hand as new condition.

Definitely agree with the 55-250mm - thats the lens I have on mine and at between £100 and £150 on the market (second hand to new) you definitely get a lot of lens per pound.

That should come in under £600 and look a decent package?

I presume the 500 is the only video one isnt it? I remember when i was buying I was advised that the 450 was better quality, so only go for the 500 if video is essential. Would you agree with that?