105mm prime for landscapes??

Name
Tom
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi All,

I really want a telephoto lens for more considered landscape compositions.

I have a limited budget and would love a 70-200 but even the f4 lenses are out of my range! I feel like if you want great image quality at an affordable price, primes are the way to go...

My question is this: Would I end up frustrated by the lack of flexibility of composition if I got a 105mm prime for landscapes? Is it a silly idea?

Are there any affordable telephoto zooms if I forgo IS/VR - I'd even be willing to forgo autofocus for a great affordable lens. I use a APS-C but I'm trying to keep my options open should I wish to upgrade to full-frame one day.

Any advice please!

Thanks,
Tom

I am far from an expert Landscape photographer but I find my Canon 100 Macro to be a great landscape lens on FF and crop. However I find all my lenses, from 16 to 800mm, to have their place in landscape photography - it is all down to what you are trying to achieve.

Every lens is a landscape lens to someone, even my 800 F5.6!

Canon?

What 105mm prime are you thinking of?

An EF 70-200/4 can be picked up for £400/450.

Nikon. From what I’ve seen the 70-200 f4 goes for £800 used...

I’m looking at the sigma 105mm 2.8 macro. It also appeals for macro photography and candid portraits etc.

You’ll be able to pick up an alternative make used Nikon fit 70-200 for a lot less than that. If shooting landscapes then you should be in the sweet spot for lens sharpness around f/8-f/11 so you’ll get the best out of it.

A 105 2.8 could be very interesting as well though. I had max 90mm when I shot with my Leica M cameras and you can do an awful lot with 90mm.

I own the Sigma 105mm f2.8 macro for Canon, and have found it to be super sharp from corner to corner, from wide open to f11 - acceptably sharp at f16.
Take a look at the following link for the blur profile on a crop sensor camera: