135L - how many steps on a 1.6

Edit My Images
No
Hi All

I am pretty new to all this, and am looking to increase my lens selection, currently all are pretty low FLs (17-40, 50, 85) and I would like to add a zoom.

Now I am looking at the 135L, there are a lot of very good things said about this, with the constant negative that its too long on a 1.6

Could someone give me a guide...how many steps back would I have to take to make the equivalent shot as on a FF...ball park....5ft, 10ft, 20ft....

I know this is a wierd question....

Alternate is the 70-200 4L IS.

Cheers and flame away :)

Andy

Just to clear up the glossary, a zoom is a lens with a variable focal length, i.e. 17-40 or 70-200.
A fixed length/prime lens is one with exactly that: a fixed focal length, i.e. the 50mm, 85mm or 135mm.

Wide angle is anything under 50mm
Standard is anything that includes 50mm (50mm prime is a standard lens, 18-55 is a standard zoom)
Telephoto is anything above 50mm (85mm, 135mm, 70-200)

Not sure how many steps, also depends on how big your steps are of course. ;)

Give or take, it would be easier to change to your 85 and take one step forward. That would be about the same field of view as a 135 on a FF camera.

OK, so telephoto! Sorry about the terms!!

Good point, maybe my question was not quite thought through enough....

I guess I need to go try one out to see what length it is through the camera... I am just trying to picture what the difference would be compared to the 85.

Maybe a better question would be does anyone have any comparisons of the 85/135 taken from the same place....

Hi All

Now I am looking at the 135L, there are a lot of very good things said about this, with the constant negative that its too long on a 1.6

Could someone give me a guide...how many steps back would I have to take to make the equivalent shot as on a FF...ball park....5ft, 10ft, 20ft....

Andy

Andy,