1st Proper Attempt at Night Time Photography

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi, I am pretty new to photography, I only started taking pictures this year and until this week with this photo I have always chickened out and used the camera's auto settings when out at night. Would really appreciate some feedback and any hints/advice for the future. I have a Panasonic Lumix G5 and I do not own a tripod. The camera was set at

Aperture - 4.0
ISO - 1600
Shutter Speed - 0.4
Focal Length - 14mm

16764-1477241022-9f59833623b2854b52fb288d7af090f0.jpg

Considering this was done by hand then it's a very good effort.

If you had a tripod you could have upped the shutter speed to a few seconds a got so much more detail and possibly a nice reflection. You may also have blown the highlights so it possibly would be a balancing act.

Thanks Richie

I was really frustrated that I couldn't get more of the mast detail into the reflection or better define the background lights but I literally couldn't hold the shot long enough.

A tripod has been put to the top of the necessary purchase list.

Thanks Richie

I was really frustrated that I couldn't get more of the mast detail into the reflection or better define the background lights but I literally couldn't hold the shot long enough.

It's frustrating times like this that push purchases like a tripod higher up the priority list.
A lot of my night time photography is done at a minimum of 15 second exposures so it just is t possible without a tripod