4/3rds lens recommendations

Name
Martin
Edit My Images
No
Hi all

Hopefully I will be taking delivery of my new (to me) GX7 on Saturday. It comes with a 14-42 kit lens but I will need to add other lenses to this. As I am new to 4/3rds I really don't know much about them so I am hoping for some steer from members as to the way forward. To suit my style of photography I would like to add a reasonable length telephoto. I have read good things about the Panny 35-100 to fill this need and there is one for sale on here. Any comments?

Secondly I am not sure the 14-42 kit lens is going to be good enough. Can anyone please suggest an alternative zoom at this range or maybe a quality prime between 14 and 42?

Many thanks

Minor point but to avoid confusion you're looking at Micro Four Thirds rather than Four Thirds. I think :D

On the prime side I have the Panny 14mm and 20mm f1.7 and the Oly 17, 25 and 45mm f1.8's and can recommend them all although the focus on the Panny 20mm is thought by some to be a bit sluggish, but this may not be an issue for you. If you want a quality standard zoom I believe that the Panny and Oly f2.8's are both pretty nice pieces of kit.

The Oly Pro 12-40 f2.8 is my mainstay. It's big and heavy for a m4/3 lens but so much so as to be annoying.
I also use the 75mm f1.8 a lot. The 45mm f1.8 is very good, cheap and focuses close so works well with extension rings for macro work. The 60mm macro lens is highly regarded but I prefer the reduced DoF of the 75mm; there's a significant difference.

The 12-50 kit lens isn't at all bad, just not that fast.
I used to use the Panasonic 25mm f1.4 a lot before getting the 12-40. It's very good and has great contrast but it's not often that I actually need to put it on instead of the 12-40.

The cheap Oly 40-150 is merely adequate; the pro version is well thought of but I just use the 75 when I'm shooting stuff in that range.

The Panasonic 100-300 is ok.