450d soft photos, Problem Solved!! (a newbies tale)

Name
David
Edit My Images
Yes
So my wife purchased a Canon 450d for me for Xmas this past year. As time has gone by I've found myself less and less happy with my results.

I'm a realist, I know there are many factors.... My getting better and finding myself outgrowing the beginner lenses, Possible problem with the camera, or maybe I'm just **** poor at taking photos.

After alot of research, i've seen many people complaining about AF issues with this body. I wasn't looking forward to sending my equipment in and complaining only to find out I am just a bad photographer....lol

Well, I did the next best thing. I visited my semi-local camera shop. Explained my issue. The staff was very helpful.

To make a long story short. My lens filters were utter crap.

As a newbie, I wanted to keep a lens filter on my lenses for added protection.

I purchased Lens filters straight away, and didn't buy the cheapest I could find. I try to do things as best as I can on an amateur budget.

Needless to say I was shocked by the following.

with.jpg

With the filter

without.jpg

without

I'm posting this for no other reason than I would have NEVER thought to look at the filter as the problem. And if this someday helps out someone. Cool.

I get much help from this board, and appreciate it.

Wow that is a huge differance. I never thought a filter could do this that bad. Thanks for the post!

The sole reason I refuse to use filters!

Why buy a lens worth hundreds of pounds, with the lens being that price due to the top quality glass inside of it, only to ruin it all by putting a £20 piece of glass over the end!

I just keep lens hoods on and make sure it's all covered under house insurance :p