6x7 scans to print 20x15" or similar. Which scanner?

Name
Danny
Edit My Images
No
Hey all.

Please bare with me I'm very new to film and slowly but surely accumulating what I need, so my questions will be newbie at best :)

I am wanting to use a 6x7 camera to make some 20x15" prints, or similar size.

Would something like a Canon 9000F or Epson V600 be of sufficient quality to scan for high quality prints of this size?

I'm intending to develop my own Black & white film and scan at home, but I'm a bit worried about where I'm going to store the scanner to keep it safe from dust etc...what do you guys do, just bring it out when you need it? Or use an ioniser or some shizzle?

Many thanks (y)

Danny

You worry too much Danny!

Firstly I'd question the need for 6x7 when you're going to crop to 6x4.5 for printing (other than because you can). If you know the size of you output perhaps you'd be better with a 645 camera and put the money saved towards the scanner and printing, chemicals etc.

I think either of those scanners would be fine, just don't get drawn into ludicrous claims of 4800dpi scanning, most of it is *******s and you reach the optical limit of the weakest part of the system long before that. If you scan a 7cm neg at 1800 for example that gives you approximately 4960 pixels along that edge. Print that at 300dpi and you've got 16.5 inches but you don't need to print at 300dpi when you're printing that big.

I treat my scanner as good as the rest of my kit. It's sits on my desk, lid open, **** resting on the glass etc etc. When I come to use it I might wipe the glass with an anti-static cloth and that's it. You will alwyas get some dust somewhere, either on the negative, on the glass or if you're really unlucky in the scanner. That's what photoshop is for and it's a hell of a lot easier than print spotting I can assure you!

Hi Kev

Thanks for the info mate.