70-200 options for Sony FE mount

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
Yes
I'd really like to complete my lens line-up with a 70-200 lens and there seem to actually be some options these days. I'm not a pro by any means, but tend to be the go-to photographer for any-and-all family events, as well as still enjoying shooting for myself.

If it makes a difference, I use an A7R2

The options as far as I can tell are:
  • Sony 70-200 f/2.8 | £2,000
  • Sony 70-200 f/4 | £1,100
  • Tamron 70-180 f/2.8 | £TBC
  • Sigma 70-200 f/2,8 Sport | £1,100
  • Canon/Nikon f/2.8 with a converter £2,000 ish?

Does anyone have any experience with the third-party options in comparison to the Sony models? An extra £900 to get 2.8 Sony - is it worth it? I seem to remember a while back the 2.8 wasn't that well regarded...

I'd really like to complete my lens line-up with a 70-200 lens and there seem to actually be some options these days. I'm not a pro by any means, but tend to be the go-to photographer for any-and-all family events, as well as still enjoying shooting for myself.

If it makes a difference, I use an A7R2

The options as far as I can tell are:
  • Sony 70-200 f/2.8 | £2,000
  • Sony 70-200 f/4 | £1,100
  • Tamron 70-180 f/2.8 | £TBC
  • Sigma 70-200 f/2,8 Sport | £1,100
  • Canon/Nikon f/2.8 with a converter £2,000 ish?

Does anyone have any experience with the third-party options in comparison to the Sony models? An extra £900 to get 2.8 Sony - is it worth it? I seem to remember a while back the 2.8 wasn't that well regarded...

Assume when you mention the Sigma that you are talking about the Canon or A mount version and using an adaptor? There is no E mount Sigma 70-200, although it is expected to come this year.

A 70-200 to be useful for most things will need fast a.f, adapting any lens isn't going to work great here. Also you mentioned adapting a Nikon lens, none of thise will work well in terms of a.f.