70D or 7D Mk2 that is the question...

Edit My Images
No
Hi,

I've been looking at the 70d and 7dmk2 bodies to replace my 450d. I'm a keen amateur who like taking photos of wildlife and wondered if somebody could sum the advantages of the 7d mk2 over the 70d for me. I was set of the 7d mk2 but met up with a friend last night who has 70d and loves it.

Steve

I have the 7D2 and made the jump form a 450D I haven't used the 70D at all so cannot offer a direct comparison but I can say, hand on heart, that the 7d2 output is fab. The only reservation i have is that all the reviews I read before i purchased it said the noise at high ISo was negligible, but i have found it disappointing above 2000 and thats really the absolute maximum I will go. Even at 2000 the image are getting noisy. In every other way it works for me

I shoot with a 70D, and other cameras, and it is a good camera and the high ISO is OK to 3200 and even 6400 if you are happy with smaller prints or for the web and do some noise reduction.
I see the 7DII as a beter camera for action mainly because of tghe higher frame rate, bigger buffer, and even beter autofocus sytem (however you will need a d3ecnet performing lens as well).

You can add weather proofing, dual card slots, faster FPS, Improved auto ISO, Exposure comp in Manual and with Auto Iso

To add, I'm going to buy the 100-400 mk2 lens to go with either the 70D or 7D mk2. I can pick up the 70D for £599 or the 7Dmk2 for £1199 from HDEW, so am wondering if the extras on the 7D are worth twice the price? I guess that is a question only I can answer but wondering what people on here think?

I think you have AF mirco adjustment on the 70D, I don;t have this on my 450D which would be useful as my Canon 100mm macro lens back focuses slightly.

I have a Canon 15-85 and a Canon 100 mm macro lens.

I doubt that the MkII is twice the camera for twice the price. Not used a 70D so can't comment on how it would compare.