7d exposure changing during filming

Name
Sam
Edit My Images
No
Hi all,

I'm very new to using my slr for film, and I have a problem with the exposure change during filming. I'm shooting in manual mode, usually 25fps, 1/50th, and with an fd lens (so aperture locked).

I first saw this problem under incandesent lights, but I also see the problem in daylight. Everything is set - including wb - any suggestions to the problem?

The exposure usually flicks down a stop for a fraction of a second, as if I was changing the aperture.

Welcome to dslr... Even if you move slightly the light will move even in manual therefore you will have to reset the apeture again. In auto the apeture will change but will look stupid on the video. These are the pit falls of the dslr. Frame, focus set apeture work to middle of the Meter bar. Having said that even on a tripod and its cloudy and you have set up, if it goes sunny then apeture will change.. Camcorder is only option

Welcome to dslr... Even if you move slightly the light will move even in manual therefore you will have to reset the apeture again. In auto the apeture will change but will look stupid on the video. These are the pit falls of the dslr. Frame, focus set apeture work to middle of the Meter bar. Having said that even on a tripod and its cloudy and you have set up, if it goes sunny then apeture will change.. Camcorder is only option

Thanks for the replys guys! I have been setting ISO manually, to answer the first question.

With the aperture; it physically cannot change - as there is no electrical connect between the body and the lens. The lens is a 1974 55mm f1.2 FD lens, converted to for EOS bodies. The aperture is set physically on the lens, so surely the camera cannot change this? I am by no means having a pop at what you said, I'm just trying to understand this very odd problem!

I will try and get some evidence up soon!

Thanks again